Steps to Take in PCC EHR When a Provider Leaves the Practice

When a Provider leaves your practice, there are certain steps that you should take in PCC EHR and Partner to turn off the provider’s access to your medical records.

Edit the Provider’s Account Settings

A user with the Administrative role must complete the following steps, which will ensure that no further items will be created for the Provider who has left the practice.

Open the Administration Tool

In PCC EHR, open the User Administration tool and double-click on the provider who has left.


Turn Off Task Assignment and Appointment Book Scheduling

In the Account Information tab, uncheck “Tasks can be assigned to this user”.

If your practice uses Appointment Book, also uncheck “This user is a Scheduling Provider”.

Stop Medication Renewal Requests

In the PCC eRx tab, uncheck the “Electronic Renewal Request Service” box.

Optional: Inactivate DSM

If your practice uses Direct Secure Messaging, open the DSM tab and set the provider’s status to “Inactive”.

Log Out for 5 Minutes

After making the above changes, log out of PCC EHR and wait 5 minutes to give the user’s status change time to sync with the eRx.

Disable PCC eRx

After you’ve edited the provider’s account settings, you can move on to disabling their prescribing privileges.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Make sure you have completed the first section before you disable PCC eRx.

Log Back In

Log back in to PCC EHR (at least 5 minutes after completing the section above).

Open the User Administration Tool

In PCC EHR, open the User Administration tool and double-click on the provider who has left.


Disable eRx

In the PCC eRx tab, mark provider as “Disabled”.

Close the User Administration Tool

Close the User Administration tool.

Reassign the Provider’s Open Tasks

Before disabling the provider’s PCC EHR account, you need to deal with the items that have been created for the provider since they left (if any).

Check for Open Visit Tasks

Within the Visit Tasks queue, set the filters to show only tasks with a status of “Not Completed”, where the assigned user is the provider who has left.


Check to see if there are any open tasks assigned to the provider.

Reassign Open Visit Tasks

Double-click on each incomplete task and assign it to a different person.

Check for Unprocessed Prescriptions or Renewal Requests

Within the Rx Queue, select the provider’s name from the “Prescriber” drop-down field.

Check to see if there are any unprocessed prescriptions.

Have Another Prescriber Process the Prescriptions

If there are pending prescriptions or refill requests, another prescriber needs to approve or deny each one, with their own credentials.

Have another prescriber log in with their own user name and process the incomplete prescriptions for the provider who has left.



Don't Want to Prescribe for Someone Else's Patient?: There is a denial option for “Provider not associated with this practice”, which includes space for an optional note.

Check for Unsigned Items

Within the Signing queue, set the filters to show only items with a status of “Ready to Sign” for the provider who has left.

Check to see if there are any items the provider left unsigned.

Have Another Provider Sign Items Left Unsigned

If there are unsigned items, another provider with signing permissions needs to sign each one, with their own credentials.

Have another provider log in with their own user name and sign the items for the provider who has left.

If Applicable: Reassign Direct Secure Messages

If your practice uses Direct Secure Messaging, check the Messaging queue to see if there are any Direct Secure Messages addressed to the provider. If yes, someone else will need to address any outstanding reconciliation needs.

Disable PCC EHR

Once all their outstanding items have been addressed, go back into the User Administration tool and in the Account Info tab, change their PCC EHR Account status to “Disabled”.



Did You Miss Anything?: If any outstanding tasks still exist for the provider, you will receive a warning that they can still be disabled, but their name will not be removed from the queue selections until their tasks have been completed.

Retire Provider from Partner

When all other steps are complete, you can remove the provider from your system by “retiring” their user name within Partner (the Practice Management window, if accessing through PCC EHR).

Lockout the Provider

Run useradmin in Partner and press F3Lockout User. You will be shown a list of users from which to choose.

Select the provider who has left and press Enter.

Add Tildes to Provider and Name Fields

Run ted in Partner and open the Providers table.

Select the provider who has left and put a tilde (~) in front of the Provider Name and Short Name fields.

Press F1Save and Quit.

Leave the Last Name Field As-Is: DO NOT change the Last Name field. Putting a tilde (~) in this field will drop all claims for that provider to paper HCFA batches.

  • Last modified: April 23, 2019